You are here

Colorado Teacher of the Year

Colorado Teacher of the Year

Each year, the Colorado Teacher of the Year Program honors an exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable, and skilled K-12 classroom teacher to represent the entire profession in the state. The selected teacher will automatically become Colorado’s nominee for the National Teacher of the Year competition. The national program is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers. Visit the National Teacher of the Year program webpage for more information.

Supported by
Denver7 The  Denver Channel Logo

2019 Colorado Teacher of the Year

Margaret "Meg" Cypress is a fifth-grade teacher at Bradley International School in Denver Public Schools and was named the 2019 Teacher of the Year in October 2018. In this video, Meg shares about her teaching style, in which she uses a project-based learning style. Meg also explains how the process of applying for the Teacher of the Year award provided her insight into why she loves to teach. 


Nominations are now closed for the 2020 Colorado Teacher of the Year award. The nomination period for the 2021 award will begin in November 2019.


2019 Colorado Teacher of the Year Award Partners

Colorado Education Association Logo

Adams State University Logo

University of Northern Colorado Logo

Colorado Freemasons

Blue Bell Ice Cream Logo

Teacher of the Year Archives

Recent Teachers of the Year

Veteran Teachers of the Year

Colorado Council of the Network of State Teachers of the Year

The Colorado Council of the Network of State Teachers of the Year (NSTOY) is an organization committed to the preservation and enhancement of the Colorado Teacher of the Year Program. The Council works with the Colorado State Department of Education and other corporate and organizational partners to celebrate teaching excellence through the recognition of educators who have inspired a love for learning in their students, and who have distinguished themselves in the profession. All Colorado State Teachers of the Year, as well as each year’s finalists, are invited to participate. For more information for upcoming meetings, as well as how to join, please visit the Colorado Council's website.

Contact Us

For more information on this program, please contact:

Kim Burnham
Competitive Grants and Awards
(303) 866-6916