You are here

ICAP Awards

Congratulations 10th Anniversary ICAP Award Winners!

The selection team of former awardees is delighted to announce this year’s 10th Anniversary ICAP Awards. Find more practices in the PWR Practices, Tools, and Resources section of the PWR Playbook.

graphic design for ICAP

ICAP Team and Promising Practice Awards:

  • With Distinction:  Aurora Public Schools.  The district’s Elementary School ICAP Curriculum was developed by 1st grade teacher, Michelle Walker from Arkansas Elementary.  It aligns with the district strategic plan, is embedded in core curriculum, and meets literary targets from the American School Counseling Association, Colorado Academic Standards, and the Collaborative for Social and Emotional Learning (CASEL).
  • Animas High School Charter, Durango.  The 10th grade team developed a program called Sophomore Inspire Week that is integral to the high school curriculum and to the continuity of strong ICAP programming in every grade.  Community members engaged with students in career and college exploration workshops and helped coordinate multiple 3-day community service projects.
  • Calhan High School, Calhan School District.  The high school ICAP team was nominated by their Superintendent, David Slothower for their willingness to grow and try new conversations, and for a true shift in school culture that started to take place during College Applies Month.  Mr. Slothower said, “I truly think the program opened doors and increased awareness for all students, but particularly for those for whom post-secondary education and training was an abstract concept. For them, the possibilities became more concrete.”
  • Mitchell High School, Colorado Springs District 11.  The ICAP team was honored for the collaborative nature and curriculum of the College and Career Class (CCRC).  In addition to all-staff orientation and training, grade-level learning teams meet monthly to strategize topics, curriculum, and resources.  The process in meaningful because students are engaged in “…individual and group conversations with a real advisor for everything college and career related.”
  • Thornton High School, Adams 12.  The ICAP team adapted their practice during COVID “to best serve students equitably.”  They created online lessons and videos – in English and Spanish - that were engaging and accessible: for individual students, groups and families.  The team worked together to brainstorm ways to connect with students that led to conversations about social/emotional support, postsecondary plans, scholarships, course selection, and relationship building.



pictures of books use in elementary curriculum

Elementary ICAP Curriculum in Aurora Public Schools



cartoon characters depict counseling team at Mitchell High School

College and Career Class at Mitchell High School

Honorable Mention:

  • Durango High School 
  • Middle Park High School, East Grand School District
  • Middle School Future Center, Westminster Schools
  • The Academy of Charter Schools

Honorable Mention: First- ever ICAP Student Award:

For the first time, the ICAP selection committee honored a student from Durango Big Picture High School for her “exemplary dedication to the ICAP process, including the completion of 1000 internship hours in four years.”  According to her nominator, the ICAP and internship process helped this student become “a positive young adult and a contributor to the Durango community.”


ICAP Award Winners, 2014-2019

From 2014-2017, the State Board of Education recognized award winners at their January Board meeting.  In the last few years, the winners have been recognized on this webpage, and their practices are posted in PWR Practices.

See also:

2019 Award Winners

  • Animas High School Charter, Durango
  • Vista Ridge High School, District 49, Colorado Springs
  • Peak Academy K-12, Montrose
  • Westminster Public Schools (WPS)

2018 Award Winners

  • North Middle School, District 11, Colorado Springs
  • Hope Online Charter School
  • Sorocco Middle School/High School, South Routt
  • Warren Tech North, Jefferson County Schools

2017 Award Winners

  • Colorado School for the Deaf and Blind
  • District 11 School District, Colorado Springs
  • Garfield 16 School District
  • Lesher Middle School, Poudre School District


2016 Award Winners

  • Adams 12 Five Star Schools
  • Center Consolidated Schools
  • Poudre High School, Poudre School District
  • Timberline K-8, St Vrain Valley School District



2015 Award Winners

  • Crestone Charter School
  • District 49, Colorado Springs
  • Jefferson County Public Schools
  • Mesa County District 51


Congratulations to the districts who received Honorable Mention


  • Colorado Springs Early College
  • Fossil Ridge High School, Poudre Schools
  • Jefferson County Open School, Jeffco Schools
  • McClave School District
  • Moffat High School, Moffat Schools
  • Mountain View, Thompson School District


  • Animas High School Charter, Durango
  • Cherokee Trail High School, Cherry Creek Schools
  • Eaton High School, Eaton School District
  • Vista Ridge High School, District 49, Colorado Springs


  • Del Norte Middle School
  • Westminster High School


  • Columbia High School, Aurora Public Schools
  • Eaton High School, Eaton School District
  • Estes Park High School, Estes Park School District
  • Grand Valley High School, Garfield 16, Parachute
  • Jenkins Middle School, District 11, Colorado Springs
  • Liberty High School, Academy 20, Colorado Springs
  • Olde Columbine High School, St Vrain Valley Schools
  • Peak to Peak Charter, Boulder County Schools


Robin Russel
Graduation Guidelines Manager