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Colorado law (22-2-117(1)(a), C.R.S.) allows districts to request waivers from certain areas of state statute and rule, 
including graduation guidelines. These waivers are granted by the Colorado State Board of Education to enhance 
educational opportunity and quality. The state board policy on requesting waivers from graduation requirements allows 
individual school districts to request waivers from all or a portion of the Graduation Requirements adopted by the state 
board.   
 

STEP 1: Waiver Request Submission  

When submitting your waiver request please include the following items as required by C.R.S. § 
22-2-117(2): 
 

Requirement  Comments/Timeline & Dates  
Include a rationale for the requested graduation guidelines waiver. The state board 
shall grant the waiver if it determines that: 

1)  the waiver would enhance educational opportunity and quality within the school 
district; and 

2)  the costs to the school district of complying with graduation guidelines 
significantly limit educational opportunity within the school district. 

     (C.R.S., 22-2-117(1)(a)) 

 

Include a replacement plan that describes the manner in which the school/district shall 
comply with the intent of the waived statutes or rules and shall be accountable to the 
state for such compliance. 

 

If the district has a pupil count of 3,000 or more, majority consent must be 
demonstrated by each of the 3 groups: 

1) Majority of School Accountability Committee; 
2) licensed administrators; and 
3) teachers 

Note: Districts below 3,000 are exempt from having to demonstrate majority consent. 

 

A hearing is required prior to adoption of a school board resolution approving the 
waiver application. Please include evidence of notice of public hearing in 3 public 
places within the district for at least 30 calendar days prior to the local hearing. This 
notice must include: 

1) the time and location of the hearing; and 
2) a description of the waiver request 

If a newspaper is published within the county, documentation of public notice in the 
newspaper is required once each week for at least 4 weeks. This may be demonstrated 
through a copy of the public notices posted (including location and dates) or a 
statement that includes a summary of this information. 

 

FACT SHEET 

Graduation Guidelines Waiver Requests 
 

Postsecondary Readiness Office 

www.cde.state.co.us 

http://www.cde.state.co.us/
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Include evidence that at least 60 days before the hearing, the district board of 
education met with the district School Accountability Committee. This may be 
demonstrated through a statement about when the meeting occurred or by including 
meeting minutes as evidence. 

 

Signed Board Resolution from the local board of education demonstrating approval to 
apply for the waiver and specifying the statutes and rules for which the board will 
request waivers. 

 

 

STEP 2: Contents of Replacement Plan 

The Colorado State Board of Education will only consider a waiver request for the Graduation 
Requirements if the waiver request is accompanied by an acceptable replacement plan. For 
your convenience, the following areas of Graduation Guidelines are eligible for waiver 
consideration. Please note that the requirement to meet or exceed graduation requirements 
for your district cannot be waived. Thus, in order to be considered for approval, Districts must 
provide a replacement plan that meets or exceeds the following criteria (as outlined in C.R.S. 
22-2-106 (a.5): 
 
Each school district board of education retains the authority to develop its own unique high school graduation 
requirements. Those local high school graduation requirements meet or exceed any minimum standards or basic core 
competencies or skills identified in the comprehensive set of guidelines for high school graduation developed by the 
state board. 
 

• Align with postsecondary and workforce readiness description, including: 
 

- Minimum English language competencies (C.R.S. 22-7-1008) 
- Preschool through elementary and secondary education standards (C.R.S.22-7-1005) 
- Postsecondary academic admission standards (C.R.S. 23-1-113) 

 
• Recognize and address the multiple and diverse pathways to diplomas and show how each pathway is equally 

rigorous. 
 

• Utilize standards-based education (C.R.S. 22-7-402) as the framework for the guidelines for high school 
graduation. 

 
"Standards-based education" means a system of instruction focused on student learning of content 
standards. This system aligns programs of instruction and assessments with the content standards. The 
implementation of "standards-based education" shall not require districts to abandon the use of Carnegie 
units, to abandon a letter grade system, to adopt outcome-based methods of teaching, or to use student 
portfolios in place of assessments. In addition, implementation of "standards-based education" shall not 
require changes in current class schedules and does not encourage block scheduling or other experimental 
methods of class scheduling. (C.R.S. 22-7-402 (11)) 

 
• Recognize and acknowledge the importance of obtaining the core competency skills and standards to succeed in 

the twenty-first century, including proficiency in math, science, written and verbal communication skills, and the 
importance of performing and visual arts. 
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• Consider career planning efforts in middle school and high school for students and parents, including outlining 
multiple pathway options, as available. 

 
• Describe how your district has completed a community-based process to develop a blueprint for the education 

system in the community and to determine the skills students will need to be successful after graduation. 
 

• Each board of education shall seek input from the community at large including students, parents, business 
persons, neighboring school districts, and regional boards of cooperative services. 

 
• Each board of education shall use this blueprint, together with the guidelines for high school graduation 

requirements developed by the state board pursuant to establish local high school graduation requirements 
applicable to students enrolling in ninth grade beginning in the 2017-18 school year. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Where can I learn more? 

• Graduation Guidelines: http://www.cde.state.co.us/postsecondary/graduationguidelines 
• Other Waivers:  http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdechart/waivers  
• For questions about Colorado Graduation Guidelines, contact Robin Russel at Russel_R@cde.state.co.us   or 

303-866-2908 
• To view all CDE fact sheets, visit: www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/factsheetsandfaqs  
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