
 

What are the state and federal requirements for participation in state 
assessments? 

Federal Participation Requirements 

Federal law, the Every Students Succeeds Act (ESSA), like No Child Left Behind before it, requires a 95 percent participation 
rate. From SEC 1005 (c)(4)(E)(i,iii), States must: 

• Annually measure the achievement of not less than 95 percent of all students, and 95 percent of all students in 
each subgroup of students, who are enrolled in public schools on the assessment, and 

• Provide a clear and understandable explanation of how the State will factor “the 95 percent participation 
requirement” into the statewide accountability system. 

Colorado Assessments & Participation Requirements 

Colorado Annual Assessment Requirements 

• State law requires assessments for evaluating students’ mastery of and growth in the Colorado Academic Standards 
and evaluating the performance of districts and schools. State law requires annual state assessments for third- 
through ninth- grade students in English language arts and math, as well as science and social studies assessments 
once in elementary, once in middle school, and once in high school. The social studies assessment may include a 
sampling method of every school at least once every three years (C.R.S. 22-7-1006.3(1)(a)).  

• State law also requires assessments for evaluating students’ mastery of the Colorado Academic Standards and post- 
secondary readiness with a 10th-grade assessment (C.R.S. 22-7-1006.3(2)(a)) and an 11th-grade assessment (22-7-
1006.3(2)(b)). 

• A helpful guide to all of the federal and state assessment requirements can be found at: 
www.cde.state.co.us/communications/stateandfederalassessmentrequirements.  

State Law Regarding Parent Excusals from State Assessments 

House Bill 15-1323 requires school districts to adopt a policy on how parents can excuse their students from a state 
assessment. Colorado Revised Statutes, 22-7-1013(8)(A-C) establishes how districts and schools shall implement this 
policy, summarized below: 

a) Districts and schools shall adopt and implement a written policy and procedure by which a student's parent 
may excuse the student from participating in one or more of the state assessments. 

b) If a parent excuses his or her student from participating in a state assessment, a district or school shall not 
impose negative consequences, including prohibiting school attendance, imposing an unexcused absence, or 
prohibiting participation in extracurricular activities, on the student or on the parent. 

c) A district or school shall not impose an unreasonable burden or requirement on a student that would 
discourage the student from taking a state assessment or encourage the student's parent to excuse the student 
from taking the state assessment. 
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What happens if my school or district does not meet the 95 percent 
participation rate requirement? 

State Policy Regarding Participation Requirements: 
SPF/DPF Policy Regarding Low Participation  

Districts and schools are accountable for meeting minimum participation rates in the state assessments. If a school or 
district falls below 95 percent for reasons other than parent excuses, in two or more content areas, (English language arts, 
math, science, and PSAT/SAT), then the district’s accreditation rating or school’s plan type will be lowered by one level.  

Schools and districts with low participation rates for any reason will be noted in the school/district’s rating in order to 
provide transparent information that the results do not reflect full student representation. For example, a school that earns 
a Performance Plan, but has a participation rate of 52 percent will be labeled as “Performance Plan: Low Participation.” For 
this identification, which does not impact the rating level, parent excuses are included. 

CDE’s policy for the impact of low participation is based on State Board of Education Rule and the February 2015 State 
Board of Education motion. 

The State Board of Education rules (1 CCR 301-1 5.02) state: “Information concerning the percentage of students enrolled 
in the District’s or Institute’s Public Schools who are not tested on the Statewide Assessments will not be factored into the 
analysis of the District’s or Institute’s attainment on the Performance Indicators, but will be factored into the Accreditation 
category assignment.” 

In February 2015, the Colorado State Board of Education adopted a motion to “not hold districts liable for the decisions of 
parents when these parents decide not to allow their children to take PARCC.” The effect of this motion is that districts will 
not be penalized by a lowering of their accreditation rating should their student participation rates fall below 95 percent on 
the state assessments due to parental excuses. Districts still must engage in good faith efforts to test all students in 
accordance with state and federal law and maintain documentation of parent excuses. 

Federal Policy Regarding Participation Requirements: 
In the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), states are responsible for deciding how the federal 95 percent participation rate 
is factored into accountability. Below is CDE’s plan, as described in its ESSA state plan submitted to the United States 
Department of Education (USDE) 

• Calculate state assessment participation rates for all schools and districts and disaggregated groups; 
• Report state-administered assessment participation rates and assessment results for all schools and districts and 

disaggregated groups; 
• Require schools and districts that fall below 95 percent accountability participation rate* in one or more of the 

state administered English Language Arts or mathematics assessments to address their low accountability 
participation rates as part of an improvement plan, including actions that schools and districts will take in response 
to their low accountability participation rates; 

• Include low accountability participation rates* as an indicator in ESSA Program Reviews conducted with districts 
and Boards of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES) that have schools identified for comprehensive and 
targeted support and improvement or schools with accountability participation rates below 95 percent; and 

• Provide schools and districts with low assessment participation rates information to share with their communities 
regarding the state assessments, including reasons for administering the assessments and how the results are used. 
 
*Parent refusals are not counted as non-participants when calculating the accountability participation rate. 
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How do testing codes impact participation calculations for the state 
performance frameworks? 

The inclusion/exclusion of a student score in participation calculations is dependent on the testing code submitted by the 
district.  The table below shows all possible testing codes and how the student would be included in participation 
calculations for state accountability. Please note that records coded as “parent excuse” are included in the regular 
participation rates as non-participants, but are not included when determining whether or not a rating will be lowered. 

Testing Code (Did Not Test or Void 
Test Score Code) 

Impact on Participation Calculations Included among 
total records for 

state 
accountability 
participation 
calculations 

(denominator)?  

Included as a 
Participant 

(numerator)? 

No Code: Student Received Valid Test 
Score and are included in School and 
District Aggregations  

Counts as participant Yes Yes 

First Year in US English Learner* 
without a valid score on CMAS 
English language arts assessment 

Counts as participant for English language 
arts if valid score available on state 
English language proficiency assessment. 

Yes Yes 

Took Other Assessment or Duplicate 
Registration/Attempt 

Excluded from participation calculations No NA 

Withdrew from District During 
Assessment Window 

Excluded from participation calculations No NA 

Medical Exemption Excluded from participation calculations No NA 

Part Time Public and Part Time Home 
School Student 

Excluded from participation calculations No NA 

Parent Excuse Excluded from state accountability 
participation calculations 

No** NA** 

Absent Counts as non-participant Yes No 

Test Interrupted and Not Completed Counts as non-participant Yes No 

Student Test Refusal Counts as non-participant Yes No 

Non-approved Accommodation Counts as non-participant Yes No 

Misadministration Counts as non-participant Yes No 
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* First Year in US English Learner 

For spring 2017 Colorado Measures of Academic Success (CMAS) testing, districts will determine whether to administer the 
CMAS: PARCC English language arts (ELA) assessment to their English learners who are first year in the United States. Third- 
and fourth-grade English learners who are first year in the U.S. but who have a home language of Spanish and received 
instruction in Spanish within the past two years, should take the Colorado Spanish Language Arts assessment in place of the 
CMAS: PARCC ELA assessment. 

Districts that have decided not to test their first year in U.S. English learners should code English language arts records for 
these students with Not Tested Reason = 02. Districts should also complete State Use Field 1 (Date most recently enrolled in 
U.S. coming from a non-U.S. school/country). Records coded in this way for eligible students will count as a participant for 
English language arts if they have a valid WIDA ACCESS score. 

** In the regular participation rate calculations, records coded as “parent excuse” will be included in the base count and 
count as non-participants, but are not included when determine if a school’s or district’s rating would be lowered.  

 

How will non-participants impact achievement and growth calculations 
on the state performance frameworks? 

SEC 1005 (c)(4)(E)(ii) of the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires that if more than 5 percent of students do not 
participate in the state assessment, they are counted in the achievement calculations as non-proficient results. ESSA 
accountability is not required until the 2017-18 school year results (2018 accountability ratings), so CDE will wait to 
implement this until there is further direction from and negotiation with the U.S. Department of Education, as this policy is 
in conflict with the State Board of Education’s February 2015 motion.  

Per current state policy, when calculating achievement, students who did not test (for any reason, including parent excuses) 
will not be included in the denominator of the achievement calculation (i.e. the student will not count as a “0”). Only 
students with two consecutive years of assessment scores can be included for student growth calculations, and non-
participants are not factored in. CDE plans to use these calculations for the fall 2016 school and district performance 
frameworks. 

 

 

 

 

Where can I learn more? 
• To view more information on the School and District Performance Frameworks, visit: 

http://www.cde.state.co.us/accountability/performanceframeworks  
• To view more information on State Accountability, visit: 

http://www.cde.state.co.us/accountability/stateaccountability 
• To view more information on State Assessments, visit: http://www.cde.state.co.us/assessment  
• To view all CDE fact sheets, visit: www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/factsheetsandfaqs 

www.cde.state.co.us 

Accountability and Data Analysis 

April 2016 

http://www.cde.state.co.us/accountability/performanceframeworks
http://www.cde.state.co.us/accountability/stateaccountability
http://www.cde.state.co.us/assessment
http://www.cde.state.co.us/Communications/factsheetsandfaqs
http://www.cde.state.co.us/

	What are the state and federal requirements for participation in state assessments?
	What happens if my school or district does not meet the 95 percent participation rate requirement?
	How do testing codes impact participation calculations for the state performance frameworks?
	How will non-participants impact achievement and growth calculations on the state performance frameworks?

