

## Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

For Immediate Release May 10, 2023

Contact: Raymond Johnson johnson r@cde.state.co.us

## GREELEY-EVANS TEACHER CHOSEN AS COLORADO FINALIST FOR PRESIDENTIAL TEACHING AWARD

Sidney Cerise, a high school mathematics teacher at Early College Academy in Greeley, has been selected as a 2023 Colorado Finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Cerise, a 10-year veteran teaching in Greeley-Evans School District 6, is now one of two Colorado mathematics teachers eligible to receive a PAEMST award for the 2022-2023 awards cycle, the nation's highest honor for U.S. K–12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers. The awards program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

State finalists represent the most outstanding teachers Colorado has to offer and serve as both a model and an inspiration to students and fellow teachers.

"I feel very honored and proud to be a state finalist," says Cerise. "I am excited to represent Early College Academy and the Greeley-Evans School District and showcase the wonderful work we are doing for our students." Cerise's PAEMST application highlighted her combination of content knowledge and ability to relate to students. "My goal as a math teacher is to make students believe in themselves," says Cerise. "Watching students gain confidence in their problem-solving skills is rewarding," added Cerise. "Sidney is undoubtedly one of the strongest teachers I have had an opportunity to work with in my more than twenty years as an educator," says Kim Silva, Cerise's principal at Early College Academy. "Sidney is an invaluable member of our school community and we are very fortunate to work with her."

Cerise joins a prestigious group of recent Colorado mathematics teachers who all await award announcements from the White House, including Erin Wahler-Cleveland of Harrison School District 2 (2022-2023 7-12 finalist), Amanda Perkins of Denver Public Schools (2021-2022 K-6 finalist), Amanda Sutton of Poudre School District (2021-2022 K-6 finalist), Natalie Sprigg of Douglas County Schools (2020-2021 7-12 finalist), and Aaron Thompson of Adams 12 Five-Star Schools (2020-2021 7-12 finalist).

Each year, a national committee of prominent mathematicians, scientists, mathematics/science education researchers, district-level personnel, and classroom teachers recommends up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards. Up to two teachers—mathematics or science—from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Territories as a group (comprising American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands), and schools operated in the United States and overseas by the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) receive the award. Teachers who are selected as PAEMST awardees receive a trip to Washington, D.C., where they attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities. They also receive a \$10,000 award from NSF, a Presidential certificate, and join an elite cohort of award-winning teachers who can influence state/jurisdiction and national STEM teaching.